Thread: Another sore story, Wound Care ???

Another sore story, Wound Care ???

After 32 yrs I got a pressure sore on my back about L1. I am quite tall and bad c5 posture did the trick. I went on vacation and drove without weight shift for a long period of time. I can lean forward and get total weight off spot. I am going to wound care and they told me II or III, but until wound bed gets dead tissue off they are hesitant to stage. They are using a product I have not seen mentioned on this site and wonder out loud if they know what they are doing. They are using Cutinova Hydro, comes in sheets you cut and covers the wound, change every 2 days. Has anyone used this product? I've just went for 3rd visit and not much change. The WC lady was going to call my doctor for some topical enzyme gel in addition, but I am at a loss..Thanks, Jim

Did you switch your back on the chair? What do you sleep on if you sleep on your back?

Santyl is a good debrider, though I have no experience with it. I understand that it is expensive.
    Make America Sane Again. lol

T-11 Flaccid Paraplegic due to TM July 1985 @ age 12

From the product description, Cutinova Hydro is a hydrocolloid dressing similar to Duoderm Ultra Thin. It provides a moist, but not wet, healing environment by absorbing drainage and protecting the wound against bacteria, dirt, etc. I've had great success using Duoderm to heal small third degree burns, shearing, and other wounds; the rate of healing borders on miraculous when a small amount of VVF hydrogel is applied under the hydocolloid dressing.
    It is easier to find men who will volunteer to die, than to find those who are willing to endure pain with patience.

~Julius Caesar

[QUOTE=lynnifer;1571407]Did you switch your back on the chair? What do you sleep on if you sleep on your back?