Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: A fun little technology demonstration project

A fun little technology demonstration project

After many months of strength/durability testing on the carbon fiber tennis frames, it was time to build an everyday frame.

Using many of the same materials and construction techniques that continue to prove themselves on the tennis chair, an everyday chair presented some interesting challenges. While not entirely completed, I thought I'd share a few photos of the project. This chair specs out nearly the same as the name brand titanium frame I've been using for several years. 16" width, 16" depth, 2" dump, 25" wheels. The bare frame weighs less than 3lb. while the titanium frame was over 8lb. I didn't bother to get a total final weight because I'm using many off the shelf accessory items (footrest assembly, backrest frame, caster forks, etc.) that weigh quite a bit more than the versions that I will eventually produce.

The results so far are extremely positive. The chair rides as smooth as silk, no noticeable flex in the frame, effortless to lift in and out of the car (my main motivation for building this chair).

I'll add some additional photos as things progress, but there are a few more in my gallery now.

Let me know what you think.

Ben
    Last edited by Black Alloy; 08-04-2012 at 09:23 AM. Reason: Right-size photo.

Nice!!
    Chas
    TiLite TR3
    Dual-Axle TR3 with RioMobility DragonFly
    I am a person with mild/moderate hexaparesis (impaired movement in 4 limbs, head, & torso) caused by RRMS w/TM C7&T7 incomplete.

"I know you think you understand what you thought I said, but what I don't think you realize is that what you heard is not what I meant."
    <
    UNKNOWN AUTHOR>

Looking good!

Curious, how did you do the bends in the front like that w/ the carbon fiber tubing?

Quote Originally Posted by Black Alloy View Post