Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Are "portable" car hand controls covered by your car insurance?

Are "portable" car hand controls covered by your car insurance?

Say, If you have a car accident with them installed ( and you installed them) will your insurance company call "foul"? Also, for people who have some, how long are they reliable per installation?. Also... Is it legal to rent a car and then install your own to operate it. Thanks for any answers...
    Has it been five years yet? ..........

Quote Originally Posted by barondidit View Post
    Also, for people who have some, how long are they reliable per installation?. ...
    I have been driving with a set of PHC II portables for about 10 years now and have traded cars a few times during that time. Right now they are installed on my brand new Silverado 4X4.

I just check them periodically to make sure they are tight and not trying to slip off the pedals.

Yes, you can put them on a rental car

Interesting question. You could always ask your insurance agent and find out. I guess it depends on what caused the accident, and I'd be more concern about the other driver's insurance company. The only rental car I used had hand controls installed by the rental company.

Now that I think about it, from a legality standpoint, how would this be any different than changing your own tires/wheels? Once you buy a car, the modifications you can do to it is ALMOST limitless. Am I wrong?

Better off just not saying anything if you were involved in a accident, knowing insurance companies I'm sure if you gave out any extra information on your own they'd figure out a way to get out of the coverage. I've been driving with PHC's for over 8 years and no problems at all. I have a friend who uses them full time in his truck and is happy with them. I just use them for rentals and use suregrips for my permanent installed hand controls.
    "Life is about how you
    respond to not only the
    challenges you're dealt but