Thread: First Chair

First Chair

I am new to this. I'm currently vertical using cuff crutches but will be in a chair within two years due to MS. I'm researching ultra light weight folding chairs. Without breaking the bank, what chairs are recommended? I'm tall with athletic build but am fighting age if that makes a difference with chairs. Also are there expos anywhere in the world where I can see, touch, try and ask questions about chairs? Thank you.
    Last edited by douglasdharvey; 05-26-2012 at 05:08 AM. Reason: make more concise

You might want to select a chair compatible w the ZX-1 add on so that you will have a lightweight, maneuverable chair that fits you well but w an option to quickly convert to power for long pushes, hot days, etc. I am not sure if a folder would be compatible. I believe the ZX-1 should be on the market from Spinergy within 6 months. You should be able to view the ZX-1 prototype on youtube.

Quote Originally Posted by douglasdharvey View Post
    I am new to this. I'm currently vertical using cuff crutches but will be in a chair within two years due to MS. I'm researching ultra light weight folding chairs. Without breaking the bank, what chairs are recommended? I'm tall with athletic build but am fighting age if that makes a difference with chairs. Also are there expos anywhere in the world where I can see, touch, try and ask questions about chairs? Thank you.
    First, I am sorry to hear about your prognosis-- but live certainly does go on and well regardless if your are vertical or positioned in a chair. It is what you make of it.