Thread: Transitioning out of Teaching Back to Disability

Unhappy Transitioning out of Teaching Back to Disability

Hello, I'm a T-3 para and am 27 years post injury. I've been working as a 2nd grade teacher for twenty years. I'm feeling like the time is nearing for me to stop working as I'm dealing with more medical issues and am just exhausted most of the time. I'm wondering if anyone knows if there are advocacy programs to help guide me through this. I have two young boys, ages 2 and 6 and don't want to disrupt their lives too much. I'm afraid I won't be able to afford my morgage and/or car if I go back to disability. Feeling a little stuck, help!!

Quote Originally Posted by AnnetteLyman View Post
    Hello, I'm a T-3 para and am 27 years post injury. I've been working as a 2nd grade teacher for twenty years. I'm feeling like the time is nearing for me to stop working as I'm dealing with more medical issues and am just exhausted most of the time. I'm wondering if anyone knows if there are advocacy programs to help guide me through this. I have two young boys, ages 2 and 6 and don't want to disrupt their lives too much. I'm afraid I won't be able to afford my morgage and/or car if I go back to disability. Feeling a little stuck, help!!
    Hi Annette,

Welcome to care cure. I don't have an answer to your question but kudos to you for teaching 2nd graders from a chair for 20 years. No wonder you are tired!

Get a disability lawyer asap and don't say much on the www. LTD is a very different kind of benefit.