Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Is there a difference between Central pain and Neuropathic pain?

Wink Is there a difference between Central pain and Neuropathic pain?

Ok so I know I should know the answer to this question but the truth is I don't. Are Central pain and Neuropathic pain one in the same or are they different or just related?? If so how is one treated vs the other? I always thought that the burning...I want to rip my skin off pain was considered neuro. pain but I have heard others call it central pain. Also is it usual to have numbness along with the burning pain? I assume that it is but even though it's been almost a year I am still learning.

thanks!!
    ACDF C5/C6, C6/C7 9/2011& Central Cord Syndrome

Central pain is often term used to describe pain which is caused by a lesion in the CNS (central nervous system) which is the brain and spinal cord. Neuropathic pain includes central pain but also can include pain which can occur due to lesions of the peripheral nervous system (PNS). Examples include diabetic peripheral neuropathy, alcoholic peripheral neuropathy, or Guillian-Barre syndrome.

(KLD)