Page 1 of 6 123456 LastLast

Thread: The decline of programmers in the U.S.

The decline of programmers in the U.S.

This is an interesting article I read in the Huffington Post. Things have changed since the 1980s when PCs first came out. One had to learn to program if he or she really wanted to use these computers. I dare say that this was the best generation of programmers that we have had. You had to write tight, clean code when you only had a few Kb to work with.

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2012/0...ef=email_share
    You will find a guide to preserving shoulder function @
    http://www.rstce.pitt.edu/RSTCE_Reso...imb_Injury.pdf

See my personal webpage @
    http://cccforum55.freehostia.com/

I've been writing programs for 50 years...I think I've touched just about every computer system ever made, and I write 90% of all computer languages.

The major problem I see today is that hardware capability has far surpassed program quality. Hardware is so fast, that even down right crappy code runs fast enough that users don't notice.

Quote Originally Posted by SCIfor55yrs. View Post
    This is an interesting article I read in the Huffington Post. Things have changed since the 1980s when PCs first came out. One had to learn to program if he or she really wanted to use these computers. I dare say that this was the best generation of programmers that we have had. You had to write tight, clean code when you only had a few Kb to work with.

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2012/0...ef=email_share