Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: SCI June 3, 2011

SCI June 3, 2011

Hey all,

I shattered my C5 vert and suffered a contusion to my cord. This resulted in a functional c7 and incomplete prognosis. I've been recovering for a little over 9 months and really am not where i want to be. I'm worried time passing by is not good for getting back to walking, since I still can't wiggle my toe consistently. Also I've starred to experience a burning icey hot sensation from my hips to toes. I'mdetermined to get back up and have been doing therapy at home and at NYU rusk.

Any thoughts,

John

Welcome to our forums. What is your official ASIA type? Do you have sensation right at your anus? Are you still seeing improvement.

It is common to continue to improve some for 2 years or more, although the most rapid and dramatic improvement is usually in the first 6 months. Regardless, keep in mind that many people have gotten return long after this...Christopher Reeve, for example, got some finger movement 10 years post injury.

Are you getting treatment for your neuropathic pain? Is it interfering with your activities and function?

Are you standing daily? Doing any FES? Supported ambulation training? Pool therapy?

(KLD)

South Side of the Potomac ..... IN A VAN DOWN BY THE RIVER

Thumbs up

Dear Johnny,

What was told to me was that you have about 6 months to discover what you have post injury, 6 months to develop those items that you can recover then 6 months to culminate those items in your recovery. They also told me that it was 6+6+6= first year post injury. It was kind of like Enron Math.