Thread: Don't know how to handle this.

Don't know how to handle this.

I have mentioned on here a few times that I teach a 3 to 6 year old Sunday School class. I have been teaching it for a couple of years. I am ready to step down from this teaching position, but I don't know the proper way to go about doing it. I would want to give them enough time to find a replacement. I had a meeting with my pastor about this class a month ago. I thought they were looking for someone to come in and help me, but they haven't found anyone.

I'm just so frustrated with this class. I'm leaving the class feeling frustrated and like a failure. There is always one or two in the class that will not listen to me at all. They don't do well with answering review questions which shows me that they aren't listening very well. I just feel like I"m not getting to them. They would be better with someone else teaching them. Someone that can make things more fun and exciting. Things seem to get out of hand and I can't get their attention back on the topic when I try to do something to make the lesson more fun. I also think this age group needs someone that can be more active with them. Like a few weeks ago when someone was helping me, she was dancing with the kids before class started.

I'm also wanting to explore helping out with the teenagers. I don't want to continue teaching this class if I do that. But that is where I don't know how to go about things. I want to talk to the youth pastor and start going to youth group on Wednesdays, but I wanted to wait a few weeks until he got settled. But I want to check it out soon to see if it is something I would even be interested in doing. I just don't know what steps to take with this right now.

it seems you need to talk to your pastor again. this shouldn't be such a source of anguish, he is there to provide comfort and a safe environment in order for you to express how you feel. gl!
    "Smells like death in a bucket of chicken!"