Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hi guys, I'm new and have a few question.

Smile Hi guys, I'm new and have a few question.

Hi,

My name is Stuart and I'm a newbie. I've heard many good things about these forums though, so I am looking forward to getting involved.

I'm not really sure if anyone can help me with this, as I'm not sure if this site is exclusive to issues associated with spinal injury but anyway, I thought I'd give it a shot.

I have Cerebral Palsy (specifically spastic diplegia) and I am currently looking to upgrade my 7 year old Quickie GPV - I've heard good things about the Tilite Zra but my question is: does anyone know of a way to stop my legs shooting off the footrests whenever I put effort into my propulsion? When I play basketball, I strap them back but it's not the most practical solution for the long term, since it causes a lot of pain in my quads after an hour or so. My current front frame angel is 70 degrees to try and 'catch' the spasms as much as possible but I would ideally like something closer to 90 to make the chair more practical.

Has anyone heard of anything like guards on the footrest to wedge my feet behind? If not, do you think it would be possible to do?

If anyone has ideas or knows of solutions already out there, I would be so grateful to hear about them.

Stu

Get industrial velcro put the fuzzy stuff on your shoes and the hookie stuff on the footrest (I am not joking)

Quote Originally Posted by ipenguin View Post
    Hi,

Has anyone heard of anything like guards on the footrest to wedge my feet behind? If not, do you think it would be possible to do?

Stu
    That is used in some sport chairs, so i don`t see where is the problem to do a footplate for your needs.

I can see you are from England, so contact Spokz for some special footplate.
    Last edited by totoL1; 04-01-2012 at 12:42 PM.