Thread: Driving your van with your joystick

Thumbs up Driving your van with your joystick

Hey guys!

As a C6 quad, I've been driving for 7 years (started driving at age 25). I use a tri-pin on my wheel/controllers and a pneumatic air-powered hand control system (it works ok enough....it will freeze in the Minnesota winters sometimes but I don't want to get into that).

The other day I made this post on SPINALpedia the other day of Dan Harvey, a C4 quad, who drives his van using his chair's joystick. I always knew this was possible, but seeing it in action is pretty crazy. I'm jealous! (I know it costs a pretty penny though). Has anyone ever tried this out? And what's the highest level someone has been able to drive using this set-up...?

You can watch Dan's video/read my post (watch him drive around with his friend/jokster/passenger) here: http://www.spinalpedia.com/blog/2012...with-joystick/
    May the fetus you save be gay

I have the same setup as the van in the video on my Dodge Megacab. The joystick he's using to drive is mounted in the van, not part of his chair.

I'm a c4-5 inc and right arm amputee. I've been driving with this setup since 1993.
    Brian

Mercedes-Benz has a prototype...I don't think it is in production. It doesn't have a steering wheel nor a brake pedal. It can be driven from either side of the front seats as all controls are in between the seats and uses a joystick. The only drawback was the price at over $100,000.
    Millard
    ''Life's tough... it's even tougher if you're stupid!'' -- John Wayne

Quote Originally Posted by onrycowboy67 View Post
    I have the same setup as the van in the video on my Dodge Megacab. The joystick he's using to drive is mounted in the van, not part of his chair.

I'm a c4-5 inc and right arm amputee. I've been driving with this setup since 1993.