Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 50

Thread: My computer won't move!

  1. #21
    Senior Member Foolish Old's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Florida Keys
    Posts
    16,412
    Quote Originally Posted by Mona~on~wheels View Post
    Great analogy! My problem is I don't understand what they're saying when I google.
    What it sometimes comes down to is you take an educated guess and fix it if you guess wrong. Or you can post to a bunch of user forums and hope that you get the correct answer from one of them.

    Could you try to explain again what your computer is doing or not doing that has become a problem? Is it slow internet browsing? Slow startup? Locking up frequently? You mentioned something new on your desktop? Did you google that thing? Any programs that you downloaded from the internet can be removed, since you can easily install them again if you miss them. Again, there's not a whole lot (relatively speaking) that you need to perform general tasks like browsing the internet or email messaging, creating documents, pictures, printing, etc.

    All the "extra" programs that provide widgets, bells and whistles usually communicate with their creators and send information about how you use your computer. That slows things down. Suspect EVERY add-on toolbar.
    Foolish

    "We have met the enemy and he is us."-POGO.

    "I have great faith in fools; self-confidence my friends call it."~Edgar Allan Poe

    "Dream big, you might never wake up!"- Snoop Dogg

  2. #22
    Senior Member Mona~on~wheels's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Cleburne, Texas, USA
    Posts
    5,664
    Quote Originally Posted by Foolish Old View Post
    System Restore does not cause you to lose your personal files or password. Items like documents, e-mail messages, browsing history, and the last specified password are saved when you revert to an earlier state with System Restore.

    System Restore protects your personal files by not restoring any files in the My Documents folder. It also does not restore any files that use common data file name extensions, such as .doc or .xls. If you're not sure whether your personal files use common data file name extensions, and you do not want the data files to be affected by System Restore, save them in the My Documents folder.
    http://www.microsoft.com/resources/d....mspx?mfr=true

    Everything I'm concerned about is already in my document folders.


    Okay I disabled the items I didn't want on start up & rebooted.
    Opening up was alot faster. YEAH!
    But I got a message from system configuration utility.
    I need to ck one of these:

    Normal startup (loads up all drivers)
    Diagnostic startup (loads up basic drivers)
    Selective startup (you ck the ones you want)

  3. #23
    Senior Member Foolish Old's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Florida Keys
    Posts
    16,412
    Quote Originally Posted by Mona~on~wheels View Post
    Everything I'm concerned about is already in my document folders.


    Okay I disabled the items I didn't want on start up & rebooted.
    Opening up was alot faster. YEAH!
    But I got a message from system configuration utility.
    I need to ck one of these:

    Normal startup (loads up all drivers)
    Diagnostic startup (loads up basic drivers)
    Selective startup (you ck the ones you want)
    I would select normal, but any of them will work. They do exactly what they say. It's not a permanent choice, you can change it.
    Foolish

    "We have met the enemy and he is us."-POGO.

    "I have great faith in fools; self-confidence my friends call it."~Edgar Allan Poe

    "Dream big, you might never wake up!"- Snoop Dogg

  4. #24
    Senior Member Mona~on~wheels's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Cleburne, Texas, USA
    Posts
    5,664
    Quote Originally Posted by Foolish Old View Post
    I would select normal, but any of them will work. They do exactly what they say. It's not a permanent choice, you can change it.

    Okay thank you I'll ck normal.

    It's running 100% better. Not sure what I'd do without ya'll!


    THANKS!!! MONA

  5. #25
    Senior Member Foolish Old's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Florida Keys
    Posts
    16,412
    Quote Originally Posted by Mona~on~wheels View Post
    Okay thank you I'll ck normal.

    It's running 100% better. Not sure what I'd do without ya'll!


    THANKS!!! MONA
    Foolish

    "We have met the enemy and he is us."-POGO.

    "I have great faith in fools; self-confidence my friends call it."~Edgar Allan Poe

    "Dream big, you might never wake up!"- Snoop Dogg

  6. #26
    Quote Originally Posted by Mona~on~wheels View Post
    Thanks for helping me.
    But I'm confused adaware gets rid of my spyware.
    Avg is my antivirus program.
    Noads stops pops ups!

    So why them?
    Having all three will really slow down your system. If you replace it with one (security_essentals from microsoft) your machine will be protected and you machine will be faster.

  7. #27
    Senior Member Mona~on~wheels's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Cleburne, Texas, USA
    Posts
    5,664
    Quote Originally Posted by t8burst View Post
    Having all three will really slow down your system. If you replace it with one (security_essentals from microsoft) your machine will be protected and you machine will be faster.
    Oh I didn't understand that security essential was a replacement.
    Okay I'll ck er out! THANKS!

  8. #28
    Senior Member Mona~on~wheels's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Cleburne, Texas, USA
    Posts
    5,664
    Quote Originally Posted by t8burst View Post
    Having all three will really slow down your system. If you replace it with one (security_essentals from microsoft) your machine will be protected and you machine will be faster.


    Okay I read about it. Is it as good or better than AVG & ADAWARE?
    Do you use it?

  9. #29
    Senior Member rdf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Someplace between Nowhere and Goodbye
    Posts
    12,972
    I use it. It's from Microsoft, so I figure they know their OS better than anyone. It's seamless and you don't even notice it's running. It's better than both of those imo.
    Quote Originally Posted by Mona~on~wheels View Post
    Okay I read about it. Is it as good or better than AVG & ADAWARE?
    Do you use it?
    Please donate a dollar a day at http://justadollarplease.org.
    Copy and paste this message to the bottom of your signature.

    Thanks!

  10. #30
    Senior Member Mona~on~wheels's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Cleburne, Texas, USA
    Posts
    5,664
    Quote Originally Posted by rdf View Post
    I use it. It's from Microsoft, so I figure they know their OS better than anyone. It's seamless and you don't even notice it's running. It's better than both of those imo.


    GREAT! I'll switch then! THANK YOU Bob (right)

Similar Threads

  1. Got that Bug to move in me
    By GL in forum Housing and Home Design
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 08-14-2012, 03:07 PM
  2. Anyone else find out u can move 1 leg if u move the other?
    By mr_coffee in forum Exercise & Recovery
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 05-31-2005, 08:28 AM
  3. Help! I need to move.
    By michaelm in forum Life
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-05-2005, 02:17 AM
  4. Would like to move out
    By tigger74 in forum Life
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-28-2003, 04:20 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •