Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: help with computers sound

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Central NJ
    Posts
    2,548
    Blog Entries
    1

    help with computers sound

    Can anyone tell me where to go and what to do to make sound work? I have a sound bar. I have a freestanding microphone. I have a camera, and I would love to be able to Skype without also being on the phone to speak. They're all USB. Is it 26 years now that I've had a computer without sound ever working just seamlessly? In the past I've been able to get sound only through a headset, but I haven't one hooked up now.

  2. #2
    I assume you do not have a laptop because most, if not all, have those devices built in. They work with the default Windows settings.

    There is an outlet for speakers, headphones, and a mic on the back of desktops. These are for electronic device plug-type connectors, not usb. For USB devices, you have to plug them into USB slots and configure them like any other USB device. If you have Windows 7 it configures most devices automatically when you plug them in.
    You will find a guide to preserving shoulder function @
    http://www.rstce.pitt.edu/RSTCE_Reso...imb_Injury.pdf

    See my personal webpage @
    http://cccforum55.freehostia.com/

  3. #3
    Senior Member brucec's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Virginia Beach, Va
    Posts
    5,658
    Quote Originally Posted by Random View Post
    Can anyone tell me where to go and what to do to make sound work? I have a sound bar. I have a freestanding microphone. I have a camera, and I would love to be able to Skype without also being on the phone to speak. They're all USB. Is it 26 years now that I've had a computer without sound ever working just seamlessly? In the past I've been able to get sound only through a headset, but I haven't one hooked up now.
    if you have usb speakers, make sure they're configured for windows
    should have came with the drivers on a cd
    which version of windows do you have??
    We must reject the idea that every time a law's broken, society is guilty rather than the lawbreaker. It is time to restore the American precept that each individual is accountable for his actions.
    Ronald Reagan

  4. #4
    in Windows control panel goto Sound. There on the playback tab you can see your particular devices and if you right-click them their options to set your default device and also other options to play with.

    On the recording tab you can set what microphone is your default, or change the default. Be sure to to check all the parameters and options within any software that you load for the sound bar.

  5. #5
    Senior Member zagam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Western Australia - Hammer wielding daemon
    Posts
    619
    Unix, X11 and IBM S/390 do not have sound. That is good.

    In GNU/Linux they set volume at minus infinity dB rather than 0 dB at boot so its there, but broken by default.

    The next disaster after AC97 is HD audio so you have no chance. The solution is subtitles in videos, but this is another thing computers can't do as well as TVs.

    You system may not be much better than mine.

    In a former life I used to fix TVs, monitors, VTs and cameras. It was still analogue then. Got in to computers after fixing power supplies and other FRUs for computer company and some odd ball accounting machines.

Similar Threads

  1. mac computers for a quad
    By floyd in forum Computers
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 08-05-2011, 10:45 PM
  2. Backgrounds and computers
    By Raven in forum Computers
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-19-2009, 05:16 PM
  3. Computers:Q&A
    By PN in forum Computers
    Replies: 166
    Last Post: 06-13-2003, 06:44 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •