Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Anyone With SCI Work w/ Computers or as Programmers??

Anyone With SCI Work w/ Computers or as Programmers??

Anyone with a spinal cord injuries (both quads or paras) have jobs working w/ Computers or as Programmers??

I am looking to increase my employability as I have to go into the career area that I can physically do. My injury was at c4/5 (incomplete) Computers and programming related jobs may very well be one of them. My current degree is not bring many job opportunities in the Capitol District (of NY) where I want to stay. From a four year college I have a bachelors in history and political science and a masters in political science. Of course I feel like I wasted my time...but hindsight is 20/20. I need to do something to find a bleeping job!

Anyone who is the computer field have suggestions on which computer/programming degree or certification program may be right for me? I'm thinking of going for a certificate program or associates degree...

Thanks all...

Kyle

Been in the IT industry for little over 30 years.
    One of the best things you can do is work on the communications skill set.
    If you're programming you may not have much in the way of working with others, however, if you go in a help desk environment, those communication skills can make up for lack of experience elsewhere. Those tech skills will continue to grow as the industry changes.

Other skill sets are based on what do you like. You shouldn't do anything you don't enjoy.
    Rick Brauer or just call me - Mr B

http://www.riseadventures.org

I work as a programmer, but have been since 88 well before my SCI. It is a great job, I love it. At least for the work I do and have done in the past I have never really considered anyone who doesn't have at least a BS degree in a science related field (not necessarily CS, mine is in physics).