Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Wife's Mid Back Pain...I don't know how to help

Wife's Mid Back Pain...I don't know how to help

This is my first time posting in this forum, I just found it while trying to research ways to help my wife. She used to work as a cashier at a supermarket and it seems that while picking something heavy up she hurt her back. We took her to a chiropractor but he seemed to only want to rip us off, so went to an Orthopedic and he gave her an Rx for Tramadol and prescribed Physical Therapy while assuring her it wasn't a slipped disc or anything, he looked at her X-Rays and said it should be because of ligaments or muscles or something. He also said for her to use a lumbar sacryl corsette. The problem now is that the Tramadol she is taking for the pain until she starts PT and everything is giving her terrible side effects, she gets, for lack of another word, stoned. She feels paranoid and light headed and dizzy and nauseous and agitated and everything that could be wrong. So I talked to a pharmacist and they said that she may react better to Meloxicam or Tylenol with Codeine but I'm trying to do my research and don't know which one to ask the doctor for. I'm afraid Tylenol with Codeine might giver her the same "stoned" side effects and based on what I'm reading Meloxicam isn't much stronger that OTC NSAIDS which is what she was taking and they stopped working, she was taking Aleve. Any advice would be appreciated thank you very much.

Hello "ConcernedHubby,"
    The Care Cure Community is a forum/bulletin board set up to address issues concerning Spinal Cord Injury, Tranverse Myelitis, Multiple Sclerosis, Non-traumatic SCI ALS, MS, polio, stroke, and other non-traumatic causes of spinal cord injury.

While no doubt painful and debilitating, your wife's injury doesn't sound like a spinal cord injury.
    Spinal Cord Injury is an injury to the spinal cord that results in paralysis and loss of sensation.