Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: surgery on c2 vertebrae

Exclamation surgery on c2 vertebrae

Hi! Im 21 and was recently in a car accident that broke my c2 vertebre in 2 places. I have been in a large brace for 6 weeks (not a halo) and when I returned to my doctors today he told me that there was absolutley no evidence that the fracture was healing and suggested surgery. He wants to put 4 to 6 screws in my neck and use some cadaver bone to help the original bones fuse together. I want to know if I should be seriously worried about paralysis or anything else, and maybe some of the long term effects of having this done. any answers are greatly appreciated.

I am not an expert --others may weigh in.

However, if you're in a brace then everything is very stable. No bone is in the spinal canal, and if paralysis was even foreseeable then the surgery would've happened immediately after all concomitant life threatening injuries were stabilized.

C2 is above the critical vertebrae, if the paralysis occurred then a ventilator would be required to live.

The surgery will be a standard operation and risks are present, but I don't believe concerns over paralysis should persist.

But, it is also very normal for these injuries to take a long time to heal, and you can ask your doctor --neurosurgeon, if your doctor is a PCP or a GP or someone other than someone who specializes in these injuries then you need to get second opinion--what the risk of waiting for it to heal on its on are.

Personally, I would be concerned about the general anesthesia risks (I've never liked going to sleep and counting on waking up).

Quote Originally Posted by AnnaMichelle View Post