Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Seat back advice for a ZRA2

Seat back advice for a ZRA2

Hi all,

I'm new to life in a chair (injured 7-9-11), and am still figuring things out. I ordered my ZRA2 while I was still in rehab. At one-month post injury, I knew nothing about chairs and just went with what my OT recommended. It has certainly been an adventure trying out different settingsā€¦ I started with 2.5" dump, then increased it to 3.25" - the increased maneuverability was great, but my legs would go bonkers when I got out of the chair. So I'm back to the 2.5" for now.

Anyway, my current mission is to find a comfortable seat back. My OT recommended a mid-size J3. While I was still recovering and wearing a brace, this back was fine. But now it's driving me nuts! I'd like to get a smaller, lighter seat back, but I'm not sure what to get.

I'm looking at the 10" ADI CF, Roho Jetstream, or Motion Concept's Matrx MX1. I know the MX1 is new to market, so it's been hard to find any dealers that offer it (let alone have a demo).

For those of you that have been around longer, what are you thoughts on the three options above?

Also, I made the mistake of getting integrated push handles on my chair (again, on the OT's recommendation). Is it possible to order a new back from TiLite with out the handles? The lighter and more streamlined I can make the chair, the better.

Thanks for all your help!

I think push handles are integrated with the back canes and not the back... But I'm also new to chairs. I'm sure someone can help you out and tell you what you need to do.
    Board Member of Assistance Dog Advocacy Project working in Education. Feel free to ask me any service dog questions!

I am not paralyzed. I have a genetic connective tissue disorder with neuro complications and a movement disorder.

If you want a lighter chair a molded ridgid back just adds weight to it. The hardware to attach it is heavy. Yes, you can get a backframe without handles.