Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Scuba Dive

Scuba Dive

I'm a very active Scuba Diver...Instructor, U/W Photographer. I have peripheral neuropathy so I'm fairly mobile with braces and crutches. Underwater all disability vanishes for me.

Joe

do you beach dive or boat dive, i live in merritt island.
    I haven't gone diving since the accident, but plan to.
    "Would you rather reduce deficits and interest rates by raising revenue from those who are not now paying their fair share, or would you rather accept larger budget deficits, higher interest rates, and higher unemployment? And I think I know your answer." Ronald Reagan"

Both...boat entries & exits are easier...beach can tricky. Springs are very doable also.

Joe

Oh yeah..I'm an HSA Instructor

I have been diving for years before my neck surgery failures. I am now a walking quad (C7 incomplete ASIA C). I just went back to diving after two years out of the water. Just returned from Fiji (Deepdiver521 on YouTube).
    I dive CCR, SCCR, OC, and SSA. I have found the depth helps with everything, sort of like Hyperbaric Oxygen Therapy. Leg spasms go away totally, and overall I feel better after a dive, if I push the PPO2 to just below 1.6, typically 1.5 PPO2. The only thing that I cannot do now is currents do to the weak legs. I prefer Boat entry and exit and typically have the BC off in the water and hand it to the crew. Shore diving is a pain getting to the water. Can't use crutches with the gear.
    I use a ZRA2 to get around on land for distance and KAFOs or AFOs with crutches the rest of the time.
    Leaving for Dumaguete in about 4 weeks and hope to do 60 dives in two weeks. 5 a day by boat.

The problem is getting on and off the boats on land. Will be OC Nitrox for sure. I am going to have to try Florida some time soon. What can you recommend?
    Darwin wants me dead

For starters...we can't top Fiji!