Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: help... workplace issues

help... workplace issues

I'm having an issue with my job. I got called to the HR office and when I went in there were already five people in the office. They proceeded to tell me that I was going on medical leave due to there not being a job available due to the restrictions of my disability and that they don't want to but they may have to inevitably let me go. I have been with the company over 6 years and back to work a year since my injury. They said i could finish out the day. Is this allowed?

This is a huge medical device manufacturing company that has never laid anyone off. I'm a quality control inspector and a good one. I've only had one reject in a year and in was a quantity incorrect that was caught in the packaging department.

Did they actually say it was due to your disability?

Is there any critical aspect of your job that you can no longer do?

Have you had excessive sick leave?

Had you had any prior counseling or notice from your boss about not meeting job performance standards since your disability?

Is this a unionized position/company?

I would strongly encourage you to file an EEO complaint, and probably you will also need to seek the advice of a labor or disability specialty attorney.

(KLD)

Yes they did say it was due to the limitation of the restrictions imposed by the doctors due to my disability.

They said they can only make reasonable accommodations for a limited amount of time. I can't lift more than 5 pounds or carry items due to the wheelchair / forearm crutches (w/kafo braces) combination that I use.

My rehabilitation doctor does not want me bending or twisting my lower back more than 5 times an hour. I had a really hard time getting the 'safety dept' to lower my desk.

I haven't had any sick leave since I went back to work after the injury.