Thread: 5 years

5 years

who out there thinks they will be out of their chairs in the next 5 years or sooner??

I know a guy name Ed and when he was in the hospital they told him there would be a cure in 10 years. It has now ben 7 that leaves 3 left
    I have been hearing alot about a cure in 5 years since I was hurt 2 years ago that leaves 3 left. Me and him always laugh about it that in 3 years we are going to be up and walking.
    do I believe it though? No. Do I hope they prove me wrong? for sure.

I think there's an outside chance if OEG's turn out to be very effective.

I reckon for a 5 year time frame the treatment can only include things in human clinical trial now - I can imagine in my wildest dreams that OEG, 4AP and treadmill training with much excercise could be available in 5 years. This could get many of us walking.

But on the other hand these things seem to move a snail's pace.

That's funny, shorty--

Bruce and I were talking about this a couple of days ago, and I said I think it's three years away. What's weird is he's one of those "walking quad" people now, 2 yrs post. I told him I thought what will happen is he'll keep getting better, tiny bit by tiny bit, and then in 3 years some chronic will-boom!-be the one who gets it all back. And that will change the world. Again.

I was told by the president at the time of the APA, that I'd be in my chair 5 years tops cuz fetal tissue was gonna be the cure. This was 10 years ago, so double his timeline and were still not much closer. I don't know what will happen in the next 5 and no one has a crystal ball. Hopefully there will be therapy's to restore some function in the next 5 but I'm not counting on it.

Pessimism not allowed.