Page 1 of 7 1234567 LastLast

Thread: Need some advise burying a parent

Need some advise burying a parent

My father died last night. He was getting on in years, and had previous heart issues over the last decade, but this last one apparently was all that his heart could take. Very sudden and out of nowhere, he probably didnt know it hit him from what I gather.

Anyway, this is my first time dealing with something like this and maybe some of you guys could give me some tips. My dad wanted to be cremated, and knowing how we both are, most likely not too interested in making a big production out of it.

Any pointers on what direction to take with this? The hospital gave me some printouts for the Cremation Society, I still need to read that stuff though. Not sure if I should do that or a funeral home?

I basically feel really lost right now and never cried so much. Trying to get my dad taken care of at this point and try to take things step by step. Maybe you guys can help me out with what to do now?

Thanks

Sorry for your loss Andy.

I'm so sorry Andy.

I am sorry to hear about your father Andy. It is always a shock. You are very normal to not be sure where to turn at the moment.

I went through this recently. Unfortunately, my mother never let us know her wishes and did not have a will, so it made things more challenging for us. We did cremation, but after donating her body to science/medicine. Then the cremation is done 2 years later.

The easiest way to start is by calling a nearby Funeral Home. They can lead you through things. They will let you decide if you want a burial (with cost of equipment that entails) or cremation, or sometimes donation followed by cremation. If you want a service, they will assist you. If you want an announcement in a newspaper, they will set it up.