Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Chia seeds

Chia seeds

Hi, has anyone tried eating Chia seeds? Dr. Oz recommends them as a "super food" so I thought I would try them. He warns you that you can't eat the seeds meant for the Chia pets since they have pesticides. I went to my vitamin store and bought a little bag for eating. If you put the seeds in water they expand to almost 6 times in volume. I put 4 tablespoons in sugar free jello and ate 1/4 a day. My bowels are really moving very smoothly now and thats new (and good) since its usually sluggish. Anyway, it doesn't help reduce my appetite like Dr. Oz said but since its helping my bowels I think I'll keep taking 1 tbsp a day.
    I have a hard time deciphering the fine line between boredom and
    hunger.

My husband and I have been adding them to our food for about three months and we love them. They are supposed to be many times more nutritious than flax seeds, and the fiber they provide is a real boon. They have a slightly nutty taste which does not dominate food. We grind ours almost to a powder, as the whole seeds get stuck between teeth and partial plates. I highly recommend them. As you point out, Ivyella, the organic seeds are the ones to buy.

Bonnette, I am trying to figure out how to eat them. I tried putting them in a food processor to grind but that didn't work. I don't want to put them in a muffin because I am trying to cut down on foods with flour. I have been putting the whole seed in jello and it reminds me of raspberry seeds but I do like chewing it. Any suggestions on other ways to eat them?
    I have a hard time deciphering the fine line between boredom and
    hunger.

Chia pudding. Or mixed with yogurt.

I make about 2 cups of the paste (1/3 cup chia, 2 1/3 cup water) and use it to swallow all of my meds.

Quote Originally Posted by Ivyella View Post