Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: SCI survey--make your voice heard

SCI survey--make your voice heard

**Most importantly: please be assured that your personal contact information will be kept strictly confidential and if you prefer to fill out the survey anonymously please do so. If you would like, you can email me your response rather than posting it.

The ongoing scientific research regarding spinal cord regeneration would benefit greatly from input from people who live with paralysis everyday. I am a researcher as well as a quadriplegic and I see first hand the gap in communication existing between scientists and the spinal cord injured community. This survey is designed to learn what people living with paralysis want from the research community. If you have a spinal cord injury please fill out this form and return it to me as soon as possible. If you have a friend or relative who has a spinal cord injury please forward this form to them and to as many people as possible and make your voice heard. We have the responsibility of informing researchers about what functionally recovery is important to those of us living with SCI, no one else knows what we go through everyday. The results of this survey will be brought to the eyes of SCI researchers, so we need as many people to respond as possible. Scientists believe hard numbers and that's what we have to give them.

1) What level is your spinal cord injury and what year did it occur?

2) What small gain of function could dramatically improve your life?
    Rank the following in order of importance to you, 1 being most important and 7 being least important:
    ___ A) arm/hand function
    ____ B) upper body/trunk strength and balance
    ____ C) bladder/bowel function, elimination of Dysreflexia
    ____ D) sexual function
    ____ E) elimination of chronic pain
    ____ F) normal sensation
    ____ G) walking

3) Do you think exercise rehabilitation is an important aspect of regaining function?