Thread: Right advice in Employabilty skills for the disabled?

Right advice in Employabilty skills for the disabled?

I ve just been approached by a slightly disabled lad who has told me that he admires me being in a wheelchair teaching electrical and plumbing certificate courses he wishes to pursue this 3 year course. I have told him that I had been working in construction fully abled for over 20 years and that even at the age of 44 this work was physically taking it’s toll. As from now I am not physically abled to do practical work.
    Him being able to pursue and qualify as an electrician or plumber does not worry me however not being able to physically climb up a ladder or scaffold does, my opinion was that his employability status in the trade as an installer will be undermined. As he is allowed by law to choose any course since achieving the entrance criteria he has a free choice, however one must be realistic about employability status, just by being able to climb up a ladder with difficulty in my opinion does not make him suitable. the work place is not like being in a school workshop, fully supervised. If he likes the subject he is more than welcome to pursue the course but in a different capacity such as electrical draftsman, or bench technician or any other role in which he can excel and not barely get by.

I agree with your assessment. I've been a builder for 25 years. Electricians working in a drop ceilings go up and down latter's all day. And yes I can relate to the toll this kind of work takes on ones body. Young people have some very unrealistic ideas Good luck
    T12L1 Incomplete Still here This is the place to be 58 years old

The reality is that he'll never make any real money since those trades frequently involve climbing, crawling and other difficult maneuvering, in all kinds of conditions. But there's always the possibility of self employment, and letting others doing the dirty work.