Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: HELP...Wheelchair Racing!!!

Question HELP...Wheelchair Racing!!!

I'm a 26 yr old T10 complete para. I was injured last year April 21. Therefore, I'm fairly new to my SCI. With all that being said, I decide to get involved in wheelchair racing. I signed up to do a full marathon (26.2miles) which takes place in October. I'm pretty much self-training. I was hoping someone can give me tips or advice from people who are more experienced than I am. I would appreciate all the help I can get
    Last edited by 28darline; 08-06-2011 at 10:05 PM.

yikes, don't write cheques your shoulders can't cash. Might I recommend a handcycle if you can buy/beg/borrow/steal one? 26 miles in any type of wheelchair is very ambitious. Start training slow. I had been doing 3-5 km once or twice a week in my day chair this spring. Then one day I got smart and did 13 km (8 miles). My shoulders hated me for 3 days, I've never felt sooo crippled. Now I do long hauls on the handcycle, more fun anyway.

I did about 20 marathons in race chairs, maybe 100 to 150 shorter races. Never injured my shoulders, most of my problems 40 years post injury (T10) have been due to big transfers. Train at least 4 days per week and you should do several 20 mile runs before marathon. Do not make any changes for a considerable period before marathon. While training do fartleks, alternating easy pushing w sprinting and dedicate days to hillwork. Carry a spare w CO2 cartridge plus tire irons, spare should be pre-stretched. Spectators will help you change tire if you flat out. As much as possible stay close to crown of roads, away from curb where you will find broken glass, etc.

Chicago should have s wheelchair sports program, Look them up or contact the local recreation office to see if they have a name or number to call. Or contact the USA wheelchair sports organiztion. University of Illinois has a terrific w/c sports dept. They would be a great source.