Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Regaining Balance Healing or??? Dr. Young?

Regaining Balance Healing or??? Dr. Young?

Dr. Young,

My balance has significately improved. I can now sit in a straight back chair and lean forward and side to side and pull myself up. I can also stand on the tilt table with just a strap around my knees. I can pull myself off the back and reach over and pick up my mug, take a drink, and put it back without falling over. I am a C5/C6 incomplete quad. Am I healing or is it just due to practicing?

Thanks in advance,

Deb

[This message was edited by Debbie7 on Jun 22, 2002 at 04:45 PM.]

Hehe Deb...

...I am not a doctor but I can play one on the internet.

Not sure what Dr. Young will say about this one but in my experience your balance getting better has mostly to do with your brain adjusting to its new center of balance. Your brain also has a better idea of just how far you can bend one way or another before tipping over.

When I visit newly injured people in rehab I always tell them that while muscle strength is important for transfers and stuff the most important part is the balance issue which the brain slowly but surely adjusts to.

I look forward to reading the Dr.'s thoughts on this myself

Debbie

R u still on 4-AP?

...It's the heart afraid of breaking,that never learns to dance... It's the dream afraid of waking that never takes the chance... It's the one who won't be taken, who cannot seem to give, and the soul afraid of dyin'... That never learns to live...

Deb

Good for you. I'd say its both - learning and recovering.

Your body is learning new balancing techniques and your body is obviously getting stronger - recovery.

Keep going!

Onward and Upward!

Hope your right

Chris,

I hope your right and it is a combination of both.

Paradude,

I would think that if its just my body adjusting, it would have happened before now.

Polette,