Thread: Would a delay of surgery affect my outcome?

Would a delay of surgery affect my outcome?

I wasn't sure which topic to post this in, but since my injury is still sort of new, decided to post here. I'm a L-1 burst fracture and my neuro said it was a conus injury. I'm walking with some extra effort, heels and back of upper legs are numb, , and I have the bowel and bladder issue. I've read on another site, that surgery for traumatic injuries to cauda equina should occur within 24 hours. My surgery didn't happen for 11 days (sick surgeon and the other was out of town). I'm a paramedic and if I had known I was in bad shape, I would have gone the extra 5 minutes to a level 1 trauma center. At the time I just wanted to quit moving around so much because of the pain. So did waiting so long to have the surgery worsen my condition? I also asked the neuro recently if I had been given the steroid, and he said he didn't know. Thanks for any feedback I get!
    L-1 Burst fx 8.11.2010
    Can walk with effort short distances
    bowel and bladder blues

Early decompression is important for any injury to the cord where compression is a factor. There can be benefits for later decompression if early was not done, but preferrable is to get the pressure off right away.

Regardless, at this point worrying and ruminating about this, though, is not very productive. What is important at this point is to maximize your recovery and get back to a life. I will ask Dr. Young to comment on this as well.

(KLD)

In my experience ASAP..I had pressure on cord as well but still functioning..get er done
    Appreciate the small gains and the large ones will be ignored!!

What surgery did you have on the 11th day. Did they put rods in your back?
    L1 Complete - Injury 3/12/06 - Grateful to be alive!!!!