Page 1 of 8 12345678 LastLast

Thread: question regarding push handles and unwanted help

question regarding push handles and unwanted help

I have been wheeling for 8 months now. My AeroZ1 has integral push handles, which I like because (they were cheap,) I can walk a bit, and sometimes use the handles myself to move my chair. BUT, several times well meaning strangers have “helped” me by pushing me without asking (twice without my even knowing they were there!!). I have seriously thought about removing the push handles to thwart unwanted “help,” but occasionally I need help, and need handles to be available. Any comments or suggestions? Would fold-down handles thwart the unwanted “help”?
    Chas
    TiLite TR3
    Dual-Axle TR3 with RioMobility DragonFly
    I am a person with mild/moderate hexaparesis (impaired movement in 4 limbs, head, & torso) caused by RRMS w/TM C7&T7 incomplete.

"I know you think you understand what you thought I said, but what I don't think you realize is that what you heard is not what I meant."
    <
    UNKNOWN AUTHOR>

I grab my wheels and lock up my chair. I inform the people I don't want any help. As politely as possible.
    I have been dumped out of my chair on a number of occasions by these people. They just shove. The front wheels dig in and you're gone. I even had a guy shove my back when I had a chair with no handles and of course dumped me on the ground.

"No, thanks, I've got it!" said politely.

Quote Originally Posted by baldfatdad View Post
    I grab my wheels and lock up my chair. I inform the people I don't want any help. As politely as possible.
    Quote Originally Posted by Eileen View Post
    "No, thanks, I've got it!" said politely.