Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: A question about CV's and job interviews

A question about CV's and job interviews

Hi everyone,

I recently got out of the hospital (as in: discharged this morning), and I don't know exactly what's going to happen health-wise in the next few weeks/months. But I've been out of the work force for twelve months already, and because I can't wait forever for things to 'stabilize' or 'get better' or whatever, I've started to actively job-hunt again.

Now, it's not like I've never worked before, but my work experience is relatively limited for someone my age. I'm 25 years old, and I have 2+ years of work experience in a commercial position. I'm willing to work in a job similar to the one I held before, but am actually hoping to find something that relates a little more closely to my college degree (which is in developmental psychology).

I realize that my chances of landing a job based on my psychology degree are pretty slim at this point. I didn't find work immediately upon graduation in 2008, which is why I started working on a new, unrelated degree then, while taking a job that didn't require higher education. Recent graduates are going to have a serious leg up on me. But even if I resign myself to the fact that I might not be able to work as a psychologist (at least not unless I start my own private practice, which is not in the cards right now), I'm still facing a few problems:
    • I have a 'gap' in my resume, where I haven't worked since May 2010, mostly because of my health and related issues.