Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Chronic Atelectasis of lung

Chronic Atelectasis of lung

Dave had bronchitis in May and a follow up X-Ray last week.
    They were puzzled by the one in May because it was unchanged from an X-Ray 6 months ago.
    Today the nurse called to say it is "chronic atelectasis" and no follow up is needed. ("nothing to worry about, nothing to do")
    I am not an expert, but even I could see when they took the X-Ray one lower lobe did not appear while the upper and entire other lung did.
    He uses a vent at night along with cough assist, Vest percussion and nebulizer. Some days I suction often and others only a few times. He keeps his 02 up and seldom needs oxygen. I have a pulsox (sp) to check.
    Is this the same as a collapsed?
    The things I find online do not pertain to SCI. I think this is the same side that his diaphragm is weak.
    We don't have a pulmonary doc in our area that will see him.

I left a message for a RT that has been especially helpful in the past.
    What are some questions I should ask?

If this is the side that his diaphragm is weaker, it makes sense. The diaphragm is not helping that lung to fully expand. It may be something that he has to live with in that he may have more problems on that side of his chest.

It seems as though you are doing all of the right things. How often are you doing them? You might want to ask the RT if y ou should be increasing the amount you are doing until you get this cleared up.

A few questions- how much is he drinking? At least 2 liters or more a day. How often are you turning him at night? Is he getting out of bed? Moving around? What are his vent settings? How long eachndaynis he on it? You might need to increase his volume or the amount of time he is on it.

cKF

Thanks CFK, He is on a full liter volume on the vent usually at least 10 hours, more if he feels he needs a rest.