Thread: C6 quad: Colostomy verses ileostomy?

C6 quad: Colostomy verses ileostomy?

Hello this is my 1st post. I am C6 quadriplegic that was injured 31 years ago due to a off-road motorcycle accident. Bowel function for me has been always a challenge but it has really slowed in the last year or so. I've been using a PIEMED machine for the last 3 years but that hasn't prevented my colon from getting very distended from gas and stool. I finally opted for a colostomy. However because of not having any finger function (translation:totally reliant on others for appliance management) felt I could eventually work in the irrigation process to reduce my reliance on the road-service caregiver concept...So feeling pretty good I met with a GI surgeon who felt that strictly from a functional standpoint I would be better served by a ileostomy because my colon’s function was not so good! Boy was I ignorant... He realized that since I would be so reliant on others it might be worth trying the colostomy 1st and then moving on to the ileostomy if needed, though I sensed he wasn't that optimistic about what the outcome would be...As I rapidly approach my surgery date I'm feeling some anxiety as I wonder if I should spare myself a potential extra surgery and try to wrap my brain around just taking the ileostomy head-on.
    Is there anyone reading this post that might be able to shed some insight on my situation? Some quads or care-givers of quads who can't personally manage their ileostomy's frequent drainage requirements and can share their perspective of life after embracing this new challenge? I realize this my dilemma but ones who have been in a similar circumstance might be able to share some invaluable help.
    Thanks so much…
    Kevin

Hi "Kevin,"
    Welcome to the Care Cure Community. I do not have either an ileostomy or a colostomy, but there have been some threads written on this website that you will find interesting.