Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Ablation to stop menstruation

Question Ablation to stop menstruation

Ok, this forum is officially the best thing I have discovered on the internet.

Just discovered a procedure here called ablation that stops periods once and for all. Can I get more information about it please? I can hardly cope with myself, so having kids is out of question. So I dont have any problem with that.

I was told that a hysteractomy is a huge operation, on par with having a C-section. That's why I have been putting it off for so many years.

I had the ablation done on 1/5/11. I LOVE IT! I went in and the whole thing took about an hour. They put you under (not all the way but you don't remember anything). Then they burn the lining of your uterus out which will either prevent you from having periods or it might make them lighter. Everyone is different. My sister had the ablation done about 2 weeks ago and she has alreayd started her period but it is a lot lighter than normal. I haven't had a period yet so I'm thankful for that. The procedure was no big deal at all. There are several websites that I googled and found horror stories of women who started their period aftewards and it went on for months. Most of them had a lot of female problems before hand. I did not have any problems before and I'm very happy with the ablation so far. I got mine so that I wouldn't have to deal with my period while I was on 100% bed rest for a few months. Talk to your OBGYN and make sure you tell them you have HEAVY periods...That's the key word to get their buy in.
    DFW TEXAS- T-10 since March 20th, 1994

Must be something in the air. I discussed ablation with my doctor just this month, but am trying birth control pills (with no pauses for withdrawal bleeding) instead.

There seem to be a lot of differing numbers floating around about how many women actually stop bleeding after ablation.