Thread: Wise? nurse? do I need to be at a 90 degree angle for standing to be beneficial?

Wise? nurse? do I need to be at a 90 degree angle for standing to be beneficial?

I have a standing chair and am often in a partly standing position. Is bearing SOME weight helpful for my bones, or must I be standing straight up to have any benefit at all? Say I were to be as straight as possible (90 degrees to the ground) for half an hour, or halfway beween sitting and standing for an hour. I realize there is not an exact answer to my question -just need a general idea of how all this works...
    "courage is fear that has said its prayers"

For me, I like to stand as straight as possible. I've put 1/2" blocks of wood between the stander and knee pads, Easystand Glider, to make my knees go back further putting me in a more upright position.. I've heard the 1/2 standing position really puts a strain on the thigh bones etc.

I've been standing since I was injured 38 years ago. I think it is one of the reasons I am so healthy. What kind of stander are you using. Way to go on using one.

Quote Originally Posted by jennypenny View Post
    I have a standing chair and am often in a partly standing position. Is bearing SOME weight helpful for my bones, or must I be standing straight up to have any benefit at all? Say I were to be as straight as possible (90 degrees to the ground) for half an hour, or halfway beween sitting and standing for an hour. I realize there is not an exact answer to my question -just need a general idea of how all this works...
    In my opinion, weight-bearing is important for maintenance of bone and joints. However, it has been difficult to prove. Various studies suggest that just standing an hour a day 3 days a week doesn't do much to prevent the loss of bone that occurs in people with spinal cord injury. Unfortunately, there have been few studies of longer weight-bearing done on an every day basis.