Page 1 of 22 1234567891011 ... LastLast

Thread: Power Chairs vs manual chairs for Paras : opinions, experience?

Vancouver WA USA - - Male T4 ASIA B incomplete

Power Chairs vs manual chairs for Paras : opinions, experience?

Power Chairs vs manual chairs for Paras.

I was curious to hear what others on here thought and felt about this, I'm still fairly new at this game, just 3 years post injury. Being crippled is bad enough, but I often wondered how much the manual wheelchair added to making my life more crippled than it necessarily should be. It seems there are so many things I just don't do or get frustrated with because I have to negotiate them with a manual wheelchair. I know it's a simple idiotic example, but to just carry a cup of coffee from the kitchen to the lounge is pretty much impossible without some innovative gymnastics. I watch a friend in his powerchair glide into the kitchen grab the cup with one hand and easily without thinking drive with the other hand bring me a cup of coffee!

There is a member buegerman who has a website http://www.wheelchairdriver.com/

On this page of his site he discusses this, and I have to say I am some what in agreement.