Monday, October 7, 2002
Hyperbaric Oxygen Therapy Has Supporters, Skeptics
By Jackie Jadrnak
Journal Staff Writer

Dr. Kenneth Stoller's enthusiasm is infectious when he talks about the wonders of hyperbaric oxygen - a therapy that exposes people to oxygen under greater-than-normal pressure.

"When I tell people all the things it can help, they look at me like I'm a snake-oil salesman," said the Santa Fe pediatrician.

The list he rattles off is a long one. Cerebral palsy and multiple sclerosis. Alzheimer's disease and stroke. West Nile virus and Lyme disease. And even more.

It's a list that puts him well outside the medical mainstream and makes him the only New Mexico doctor providing the therapy for such conditions.

Presbyterian Hospital, the other primary site in New Mexico with a chamber, uses it mainly for situations such as carbon monoxide poisoning.

Hyperbaric oxygen is approved by Medicare for about a dozen conditions - most of them involving wound healing, poisoning (such as carbon monoxide) and air bubbles (most notably "the bends" in divers who surface too quickly).

In those cases, the treatment can work by getting more oxygen to a wound, making the area less hospitable to certain bacteria; squeezing bubbles to a smaller size and pumping in more oxygen that has been displaced by carbon monoxide.

When it comes to treating brain and neurological injuries, though, some neurologists contacted by the Journal were skeptical. They cited studies showing negligible improvement - nothing better than those who didn't get the treatment.

Stoller's response is that doctors reject his claims because they aren't trained in medical school about the benefits of hyperbaric oxygen.

And when they say there isn't evidence to support its benefits, Stoller produces abstracts of many studies that suggest improvements after the treatment.

Molli Doyal doesn't need studies. She's seen what happened to her son, Curtis, 5.