Thread: Dry itchy ears

Dry itchy ears

Does anybody have any suggestions for how to treat dry, itchy ears.

For the last couple of years I have been having a problem with near constant itching and flaking skin in my ears, the skin near the opening to the ear canal gets dry and flaky. Some time ago a doctor prescribed some drops which were a steroid and I believe contained an antibiotic. They relieved the symptoms as long as I used the drops but the itching returned soon after the prescription was used up. I don't think he wanted me to use the drops long term because it was a steroid, I trust his judgement even if I do not understand it.

A pharmacist recommended using olive oil to keep the skin from drying up. I have been using olive oil daily for the last two years. It usually reduces the itching but does not stop it completely. Usually each morning after I wash I have to use the tip of my little finger to remove some old skin from around the opening to the ear canal. It can be hard to remove all of the dead skin and any that remains seems to cause itching. I used some tiger balm for the last few days and it seems to stop the itching but the skin peels even more when using this and if I stop using it the skin seems to dry up almost immediately.

Any ideas or suggestions from anyone who has this problem would be appreciated.

Duncan.
    Last edited by Duncan McIntyre; 01-26-2011 at 06:37 PM.

I've been getting dry ears, nose, and throat from the central heating being on all the time. One thing that helps is the Microcyn/ Vetericyn gel. I put it in my ears with a Q-tip at the first sign of itching as that's one of my red flags for a pending infection.