Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Foley and bladder spasms

Foley and bladder spasms

I have been using a foley for the past 15 years and, up to the past year or two, haven't had any issues. I take Detrol LA once nightly.

For the most part, I don't have any recurring issues until I go to change to foley. Its at this time that I have extreme bladder spams that can cause AD for up to an hour (not the whole time, just recurring). This often occurs many hours after it has been changed and is really ruling my life for the entire day.

This is the part that puzzles me: Why are the spams occurring many hours after it has been changed?

I generally experience some general AD and spasticity for about 30 mins after it has been changed and then I am fine for a few hours; then it hits me like a ton of bricks!

I have been taking Tylenol to try and reduce the possible pain my bladder is experiencing and controlling my AD with Minipress, if necessary, but nothing but time seems to help. After an hour or so, everything is fine and I'm on my way.

Just in case the information is pertinent, I change it every 30 days or so.

Thanks,

Ben
    C5-6 - 22 years

Hi "Ben,"
    I now have a supra pubic catheter (SP), but used an indwelling, urethral foley for some time before the SP. It seems to me that problems like this that start after many years of using a particular type of bladder management fall into the category of neurogenic bladder change. Change just happens and things don't work they way the used to. I would suggest seeing your urologist for a cystoscopy to get a good look at the bladder and the urethra. You may be developing some urethral erosion or strictures. The spasms are being caused from some kind of irritation.