Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Ok, so I'm not 'new', but I'm new to this part...

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Ok, so I'm not 'new', but I'm new to this part...

So, I'm having a laminectomy (L3/4/5 S1, possibly farther) soon, (VA's working on the scheduling) but I have no idea what to expect, especially with arm surgery being done at the same time. How long is the 'usual' hospitalization for just a laminectomy?
    I'm assuming somebody from the VA will tell m something besides what they're going to do, but so far...
    I have to be scheduled with the anesthesiologist, then they'll schedule the surgery, according to the surgeon, but he's just there to talk about his part, right?

WOW, had that exact surgery bout oh' say 12 yrs ago. Kinda a rough one, when they do it they cut the little supporting attachments on the vertibrae, and leaves them feeling kinda loose, like a skeleton kindof "rattling". You'll feel like the bones are kindof loose, but they'll tighten up eventually, just be careful. I hope it goes well for you, good luck. I got out in about 3 days, but then I got out in one day after fusion surgery, it was a breeze.

I Hope some of the good people here have some info for you Coleen.

I hope all goes well for you, Coleen. I'm sorry you have to endure that.

Coleen,