Thread: Adult onset tethered cord questions

Adult onset tethered cord questions

I am a 39 y.o. Woman recently diagnosed with TCS at L2, in addition to herniation at L4,L5, S1. The pain has been severe for six years, although it was thankfully intermittent until the past seven months when it has been daily. I have severe pain in my lower back, buttocks, and left hip, as well as some bladder issues.

I had seen 5 different orthos who diagnosed the disk herniation only; I saw a neurosurgeon at the university of Utah who was the first to also diagnose the TCS. I'm scheduled for surgery, have read every study i can find as well as this great forum, but i still have a few questions:

1) Is the severity of TCS indicated by the level of the tethering? That is, is my situation with tethering at L2 less severe than, say, S1, and is surgery therefore less critical?

2) As a professor, I spend most of my time at my computer. How soon can I realistically expect to be back at my computer working after surgery (recognizing that everyone heals differently)?

3) In addition to checking my surgeon's experience with this surgery, what else do I need to find out to assure myself of his skill? I understand that the univ of Utah's spine center is highly regarded.

Many thanks for your advice. I am so grateful to Dr Young for his generosity and responsiveness to so many in this forum and in the field more broadly.

Meb

Meb, I don't have any knowledge about TCS but I welcome you to the forum and wish you all the best in your surgery and recovery. There are many people here with experience of TCS and sufficient expertise to answer your questions, and I know they'll be along shortly. Blessings to you.

I will ask Dr. Young to comment.

Am I correct that you do not have a previous SCI but only the recently diagnosed tethered cord syndrome?

(KLD)