Thread: Documentary- call for help, advice and potential contributors in UK

Documentary- call for help, advice and potential contributors in UK

Hello, my name is Amber Comerford and I live in Glasgow. I am posting here as I want to make a documentary about recovery from spinal injury and am keen to get some advice and help to make this happen.

I would like to speak to people who have been through this situation and also to make contact with people and their families who are currently going through this. The reason for wanting to make this film has come from the fact that my Uncle became paraplegic after a car accident abroad- I want to try and gain some understanding of what this recovery process is like.

I have been working in tv for 6 years and this documentary idea has been shortlisted for the Scottish Documentary Institute Bridging the Gap Scheme-http://www.docscene....ng-the-gap.html

I have also secured support from a top Scottish documentary company, Matchlight- http://www.matchlight.co.uk/

I am particularly keen to try and focus the documentary around someone's journey from hospital to moving back home.

Thanks very much for your time.

With best wishes,

Amber

I would suggest that you take a look at Matthew Reeve's documentary on his dad, Christopher Reeve. It is a good place to look for ideas.
    Every day I wake up is a good one

I would also recommend looking at the trilogy of films by the late Barry Corbet: "Changes", "Outside", and "Survivors" are among the classic documentaries/educational films about living with SCI, even though they were all made a number of years ago. Still distributed by Lighthouse Productions.

(KLD)

PM either keps or Rehab Rhino, both from the UK, and ask what rehab they went to. If you want to follow someone from injury onward, you'll need to have some sort of relationship with the rehab faculty beforehand imo.