Thread: PTR-bot

PTR-bot

I’m starting this thread to talk about the power add-on unit (for manual wheelchairs) that is designed and built by pattherat. “PTR-bot” is not the official name of the unit, but since Pat has yet to decide on one, I’ll be using it (PTR-bot) as an unofficial tag for the purpose of this thread.

Earlier this year, I was in the process of figuring out the best wheelchair/seating/propulsion combination to support my lifestyle needs and goals. During that process, I happened to meet Pat and learn about his invention. After some discussion, he agreed to build one for me; and now my PTR-bot is part of a completely new set-up that includes a Ti-lite TR and Ride Designs custom seating.

I’ve been using the new set-up for about two months now; and while I’m still working to get the custom seating dialed in, I can tell you that I’m completely satisfied with the PTR-bot. Operationally it has been flawless. Conceptually it continues to impress – not just me – but, pretty much everyone who happens to see it.

Some notable characteristics:
    • Requires no modifications to the wheelchair – no alterations, no added weight.
    • Independent engage and disengage – requires no extra assistance.
    • Quick and easy engage and disengage – a few seconds either way (honestly).
    • Lightweight – about 75 lbs.
    • Small footprint – fits inside the same space as the manual wheelchair.
    • Nimble – does not restrict normal movement patterns of the manual wheelchair.
    • Good range – don’t know exactly how good; but, so far, it’s beyond the range of my daily activities.
    • Plenty of torque – able to handle a steep incline with no decrease in power.
    • Adequate speed – could use a little more top-end (if anything).
    • Power and flexibility to navigate uneven terrain – limits in this area can mostly be attributed to the chair itself (short wheelbase and small front casters in particular).