Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Carpal Tunnel Syndrome as a Paraplegic having the surgery!

Carpal Tunnel Syndrome as a Paraplegic having the surgery!

Okay... I tried to find a RECENT thread on this subject but found none.

I have had the nerve conduction studies to confirm I have Bi-Lateral Carpal Tunnel Syndrome. My hands go to sleep, forearms ache and I lose strength in my hands. Of course it is worst at night but here is the big rub for me. I can barely play my guitar which is a BIG part of my life. I have been leading worship in a praise band at my church for 13+ years and don't really want to stop as well as gigging/recording with area groups and friends. Guitar and music are a big part of my life.

1 - I am a wheelchair dependent L1 paraplegic complete with good upper body and arm strength.
    2 - I am 4 1/2 years post injury
    3 - I have been in a manual wheelchair since injury
    4 - I am a photographer by trade but also a singer/songwriting guitar player
    5 - I am single and live mostly alone. (16 year old son here every other week.) Do all my own transfers plus bowel program etc.
    6 - I wear forearm braces every night and alot during the day. They help but not as much as they used to.
    7 - I am VERY active and transfer alot during the day. Chair to Car and back usually 8 to 10 times a day - Chair to Bed - Chair to Potty Chair - Chair to EZ Chair - Depressions for skin relief.
    8 - I have had a steroid injection with not much positive result.
    9 - I had Carpal Tunnel issues before SCI.