Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Problems swallowing water

Question Problems swallowing water

I don't know if this should go here but I been having trouble swallowing water the past few days. I have no problem swallowing food, just water. I was able to chug a glass of water last week but i have noticed that Ive been chocking on water once and while for like the past 6 months. I could just take one drink but I can't chug a glass of water, koolaid, etc since 3 days gao. I read it could be acid reflex but I don't know. I also did have a treak cause I had a punchured lung but that was 8 years ago and I dont use anything to breath or any of that. Anyone know why this is?
    C-5, 6 SCI. Took about 6 months to walk. Walking full time. Without any assistance since Nov. 2003 and will make a full recovery

could it also be mental?
    C-5, 6 SCI. Took about 6 months to walk. Walking full time. Without any assistance since Nov. 2003 and will make a full recovery

Hello,
    If you are having choking with water, you should have this checked out immediately as fluid or food could be going into your lungs and can cause pneumonia. this could be the extreme, but it requires investigation.

Often, this sudden change can be related to a neurologic problem, so I would not put it off. I would recommend seeing an ENT clinician who would refer you for a swallow evaluation.

AAD

I have this happen to me a couple of times a year. I just seem to forget how to swallow. It is not an automatic action and it happens very suddenly. I constantly choke on spit and have to really concentrate on swallowing food and liquids.

I try to swallow, but the mechanism just doesn't want to kick in. The food just sits in my mouth. It is very bizarre. Not wanting to choke on food and have a problem like choking, I simply stop eating foods that require a lot of chewing or could pose a choking hazard, like meat for example.