Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Going to Orlando & NYC – Tips

Going to Orlando & NYC – Tips

Hi there, I´m from Brazil paraplegic planning, me and my wife, to take our 8 year old kid to Orlando next February.
    After 12 days in Orlando, we´ll go to NYC. We´re planning to rent an adapted car in Orlando but we´d like tips of how to go to places in NYC.
    Also, hotels in NYC seem to be extremely more expensive than in Orlando. More than $200 a night while we´re planning to pay $80 in Orlando.
    Any good and well situated hotel tip in NYC would be very welcome.
    Hope hearing from you soon

People cannot help?

I'm afraid I don't know much about hotels in New York City, since I'm a resident. I have heard good things about the Sofitel though.

is it necessary to stay in NYC, could you travel across the bridge into NJ I'm sure its much more reasonable there.

Ny

We stayed at the New York Palace on Madison Avenue. Excellent location, but we paid about 250 $ a night. Many hotels have handicap rooms, so I think you should just choose the hotel you like (e.g. from expedia) and check with the hotel if they have handicap rooms - just always ask if such rooms have roll-in shower or bathtub if you can't use them both. For transports in NY, we always used the buses, which are all equipped with a kneeler and have a reduced rate for disabled. There is almost no way to use the subway since there are very few accessible stations (connections are almost impossible).
    Affe

Trip to NYC