Thread: lots of DME questions

lots of DME questions

I'm new at all this stuff, and my son's rehab facility isn't helping at all. Sigh.

I'm wondering are there certain items that are generally covered by insurance companies? (We have a really good United Healthcare policy.) For example, are shower chairs/commodes covered? If not, does Medicaid cover them?

As far as DME, do we need a prescription for every little thing? Like even chux? (And, does Medicaid cover that?)

Do other people have trouble getting their doctors/PT's etc. to write rx's for items? Ours aren't doing anything for us - only the hospital bed and wheelchair....oh, and the slide board (which isn't covered by our insurance...maybe Medicaid on that too???).

I'm really wondering what items I need for my son, who is coming home tomorrow. (They just told us yesterday.) Surely he could use more than just the bed and wheelchair?!?

What is the best kind of mattress (he's a C5/C6 inc)? They are saying just a bubble overlay is fine. I thought low air loss mattresses were best?

And what about the IPD things....those cuffs that go around his legs and inflate. Wouldn't that be useful? But they won't write an rx for that either. Sigh.

Finally, if anyone knows any good DME's in SW Ohio...or any helpful advice whatsoever....I'd really appreciate it.

Thanks so much!

get ahold of your insurance company with a major claim like that you should have a special claims person attached to the case. we had the same problem when dalton got hurt, once we got assigned to someone from blue cross we finally started to get some answers as to what was and was not covered. the health care providers have no clue what if anything is covered by your insurance it all depends on the plan you have. call them and ask for someone to be assigned to the case I hope this helps because I know the frustration that you are going through. good luck