Thread: Help!

Help!

Hi All, I've been teaching now for 10 years (I've been in a chair for the last 7), and love, love, love my job (I teach 9th grade public school in Baltimore). I want desperately to keep my job for an 11th yr, but am afraid that -- unless MS gives me a break pronto -- that is an unrealistic goal. Further information:

- I was diagnosed at 19 and am now 31.
    - I have a pretty progressive course of MS. As of today I cannot use my legs at all, tone affects my legs and trunk badly, my arms have weakened significantly this past year (I was an avvvvvid swimmer until a year ago) and I can no longer type, play piano or do pretty much anything that requires fine motor coordination.
    - I have pretty good insurance through Baltimore city, but it doesn't cover any sort of home care assistance.
    - My current roommate (who has morphed from roommate, to friend, to care taker) is moving out of state in mid-August. My family lives 5-6 hrs away, and I am definitely single
    - I just had the Mitroffanoff surgery for my bladder in order to restore my independence, but unfortunately my disease took a big hit. I am no longer able to transfer (into or out of my car, my bed, on or off the toilet, on or off the couch ETC). I am also struggling to put on shoes, get the bottom half of me changed, get my bras to clasp, put on mascara, wash dishes ETC.

I cannot possibly be the only disabled person in this predicament. Please give me some advice -- are there resources out there to help me stay employed and maintain my independence? Are there care-giving resources that I can afford on a teaching salary? What on earth do people do?

I also didn't know where to post this; care is probably the wrong place!

Thank you for listening. I am so incredibly scared.

Hello,

I am so sorry to hear of your predicament and I applaud you for being so proactive and motivated about your situation and independence.