Page 1 of 16 1234567891011 ... LastLast

Thread: Microcyn and Wound Care

Microcyn and Wound Care

DISCLAIMER! I'm a lousy photographer and these pictures don't come close to what I wanted to achieve. I'll try to fix them when I get to a computer with real photo software...

Almost 10 years ago, I scraped my shin bone on something and it decided not to heal. I've had more than my share of dealing with sores & wounds, so wasn't too concerned. As time went by, I tended to it in every way imaginable...sprays, balms, aloe vera leaves, voo doo, bandaged, unbandaged.

So, when I decided to start using Vetericyn on it, I decided to treat it with nothing but the wound & infection gel & spray. It received no special treatment and I haven't even tried to keep pessure off of it while laying on my side. I use the medication on it at least twice a day.

I'm impressed.

Day 1 - May 22, 2010

The wound is approximately 1" in diameter and is a stage 2 sore. I've never seen any bone exposed (but admittedly haven't looked too hard). The skin around the wound has been slightly purple since injury 10 years ago.

Day 11 - June 2, 2010

I'm slighty depressed at the healing I don't seem to be seeing. The area seems less inflamed. I'm not going to stop using the vetericyn until the bottles (1 16oz spray, 1 8oz gel) I bought run out.

Day 20 - June 11, 2010

If nothing else, I can see that the vetericyn is excellent at combating infection. The sore has granulated & scabbed over. It's never done this before. I still have at least half of both the gel & spray left to use.

Day 27 - June 18, 2010

While watching the progress in healing this past week, it dawned on me that nothing (other than injuring the spot again) will stop this sore from healing at this point! My ankle has rallied back and is looking better than it has in 10 years. I'm sold on it for wound care!

"We are the ones we've been waiting for. We are the change that we seek."
    - Barack Obama