Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Driving Again

Driving Again

I was wondering how many walking Para/Quad are driving their cars- not modified in any way. And, how long after injury.

Hello Debbie,

About a year after my injury, I began driving again. I was fortunate in that I didn't need any modifications to my vehicle. In 2004, I got a powerchair and quit walking. The van I use now has a power door and ramp but that is all. I can still drive without accessories but I have to have someone load my manual chair in the trunk.

Good luck and keep the faith. It is tough going but is worth the work.
    Millard
    ''Life's tough... it's even tougher if you're stupid!'' -- John Wayne

I have been driving without modifications until now but now I have handcontrolls because I don't feel safe without. I have been driving since 1976 and did walk until 2005
    TH 12, 43 years post

women from europe.. why dont you walk anymore? are you too lazy?

:d...

Quote Originally Posted by mv740 View Post
    Because when I got older and had been walking for 34 years, I lost the function, nerves and muscles, because of overuse.

I think Wise and SCI nurse can explain it better. Even ablebody people loose and when you have very few neurons from before and loose those you have, it is not possible to walk anymore. So in some way it is better to be lazy instead of living a normal life walking all the time every day because then you don't get the overuse.

And of course I did like everybody else, I thought if I did more exercise and more walking, I would be stronger, but it is the other way, you loose more quickly. It is like post polio in a way.
    TH 12, 43 years post

wow you are wrong in everything.. exercise and praying to god is what you should do,,

Stop this shit mv740. You've done it before. It's not cool, and it's out of line.

If you can't be civil, don't post.
    Please donate a dollar a day at http://justadollarplease.org.