Page 1 of 9 123456789 LastLast

Thread: Newly injured, new to forum -- Introduction

Newly injured, new to forum -- Introduction

Hello all,

I'm so glad to find a site like this. There is a lot of information and the nurse moderator (KLD) seems very helpful. Let me introduce myself...

My name is Fred and I was injured in the summer of 2009 from a diving accident. I am a C-5 complete. I spent six months total in the hospital and I'm so glad to be home now.

I just turned 40 years old. I am a military veteran, U.S. Navy, '88-'93 as an air traffic controller.

I am from Madison Wisconsin. It is a wonderful place to live. I went to college after the Navy and I graduated from the University of Wisconsin with a degree in civil engineering in 2001.

This Friday (June 11, 2010), I'm getting married. We have been dating for 3 1/2 years. I proposed to her a few months after my accident, and she still said yes! She is a wonderful woman and helps me out greatly with the trials and tribulations from the devastating injury.

I have an aide who comes to my house seven days a week every morning for three hours a day to help with bladder and bowel care, grooming, transferring to wheelchair, etc.

My wheelchair is a Permabile C-500. The wheelchair stands up, but I have such low blood pressure problems that I rarely can use the stand-up function. I had problems finding the right wheelchair due to my height. At the time of the accident, I was 6'4" and 200 pounds. Because of my taller frame, I needed a taller wheelchair. This has created other problems because now my wheelchair seat level is really high and my torso is still tall. I don't fit into most handicapped vehicles and I don't fit under most tables.