Thread: Raised Toilet Seat Design ideas

Raised Toilet Seat Design ideas

Hey Guys and Gals,

I am an unemployed designer, with a creative mind, good sense of aesthetics and time on my hands.

I have recently chosen the lofty goal of designing a toilet seat. I am sure this effort will be the pinnacle of my Design Career.

Joking aside, I am very sincere in this effort.

In my research, I discovered a comment by Miss September wherein she stated that she mounted and dismounted the toilet with no further aids then the toilet seat itself. As odd as it may sound and as uncomfortable as it is to request: I would love to hear how people are doing this.

My goal is to create a toilet seat that is strong in every way, and optimized so that it can be used as the only aid by which an able upper body individual needs to mount and dismount the toilet. I have two designs that I hope to submit to the Patent office this week. I welcome any input as a "sanity check", to insure that I have not missed some important concept.

In addition to creating a design that is strong and functional, it is my intent to avoid another shortfall of current aids, which is that they all seem to be designed with the idea of Form Fits Function and have a medical, clinical or at best a industrial appearance. As silly or minor a matter as it may seem to be; it's time to design something that looks more like a piece of art or cool sports equipment than a crutch.

You're help is much needed and appreciated.

Stephen
    Last edited by Stephen6s; 06-01-2010 at 01:12 PM.

Pseudos of Pearls of Wisdom

An epiphany without action is a gift refused
    Last edited by Stephen6s; 06-01-2010 at 01:08 PM. Reason: mistake in sending